One More Pill

vitaminsI decided to keep a food diary as part of my overall return to health.  Calorie counting has been an invaluable tool in helping me lose weight.   However, I had a sneaky suspicion that my eating habits, while greatly improved, were not good enough so that all my nutritional requirements were being met by my current “improved” diet.   And thanks to my cell phone’s fitness app, I was able to track both my calories and nutrient uptake for a month and a half.  Doing this confirmed what I had been suspecting all along.  I don’t get enough nutrients in my diet.  Sure, I’ve been staying close to my recommended caloric uptake but after 6 weeks of tracking my daily nutrition I didn’t meet my recommend daily allowance for iron once.  At least a few days a week I don’t get enough protein.  And to make matters worse the only vitamins I consistently reached 100% on were Vitamin C, D, and folic acid.  And that is not acceptable.  It seems that those of us with rheumatoid arthritis are considered to be at nutritional risk according to Johns Hopkins.  And I can see I definitely fall into that category.  Tracking my food has been a great wakeup call for me.  Eating better isn’t good enough.  I have to consistently eat well with the knowledge that even if I don’t feel well and maybe because I don’t I need to make better food choices.  Until I figure out how to meet my nutritional requirements from whole foods while reducing calories I will be adding one more pill to my daily routine-a multivitamin.

8 thoughts on “One More Pill

    • From the article there are several reasons why those with RA are at risk nutritionally. First, we may feel poorly on the regular basis and not want to eat or have the ability to fix nutritionally balanced meals on the regular basis. Then we are often on drugs that can deplete vitamins in the long run. And finally they theorize that the fact that we are constantly in an inflamed state predisposes us to being nutritionally at risk simply because of the way the inflammation process works. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

